Frequently Asked Questions

Share via Web

If your question is not addressed below, please contact us through our feedback form and we’ll get back to you shortly.

Can I share files / folders via the web?
Where are my shared files located?
When I click the share link, it says that it is invalid. Why?
How do I pin shared files or folders to my IDrive account?
How do unshare files/folders that I have shared with my associates?
Will my available quota (storage space in my account) be impacted when other IDrive users share files with me?
 
   
   

Can I share files / folders via the web?

Yes, you can share files / folders with your associates via the Web interface. Login to your IDrive account and select the desired files / folders. Click the option. Using a secure URL shortener, we will generate a secure link, which you can share with your friends and associates.

Click the 'Settings' option, to set the share permissions. You can password protect your files / folders to ensure that they are viewed only by the intended recipients, write-enable your files / folders so that others can modify them and upload them back to your online backup account etc.

Alternately, select the desired file/folder and click the option and then select 'Share'.



You can share your files and folders via email, Facebook and Twitter.

Note: Sharing option is available for IDrive accounts with default encryption.

Where are my shared files located?

IDrive provides a centralized location for all your shared files. You can view the files that you've shared with others and the files shared with you by other IDrive users.

To view the list of shared files,

  1. Log in to IDrive.com from any web browser.
  2. Click the 'Shared by Me or Shared with Me' tab and the list of all the shared files appears.

When I click the share link, it says that it is invalid. Why?

The shared file/folder may have been moved to a different folder or deleted from the user's IDrive account.

How do I pin shared files or folders to my IDrive account?

You can pin files that are shared with you to your account for quick access. The shared files pinned to your IDrive account does not impact your account's quota.

To pin shared files,

  1. Click the shared link in the email template received from IDrive.
  2. Click 'PIN files to my IDrive'. All the shared files will be appear under Shared with Me tab in your IDrive account.

How do unshare files/folders that I have shared with my associates?

To prevent your associates from accessing your shared files/folders, login to your IDrive account via the web, click the 'Shared by Me' tab, select the shared link(s) that you no longer wish to share and click option.

Will my available quota (storage space in my account) be impacted when other IDrive users share files with me?

No. When other IDrive users share their files with you, it does not impact your account's quota, as your storage is calculated only for the files you back up and not for the files shared with you.

Top